PANAJI: Prescon Panthers registered a comfortable 19-run victory over Baale Tigers in the second match of PGML on the Matchday 3 at PG ground, Campal, here on Saturday. This was Prescon’s second win of the exclusive members T20 fun event in three matches; while Baale Tigers, who looked well in control of the proceedings till the last six overs, suffered their second loss.

Chasing a huge total of 168/6, Baale were in a great position with 50 runs to get in the last six overs with seven wickets in hand. But the Panthers outsmarted the Tigers at the crucial juncture to restrict them to 149/5.

Captain Kapil Angle and player-coach Sudin  Kamat had provided a solid start to the Tigers run-chase with 61-run stand at the top. Sudin scored 33 runs off 24 balls with 4 boundaries and 2 sixers. After he departed, Paresh Miskin ensured that the run-rate was maintained as he scored 35(24b, 3 fours & 1 sixer). Kapil Angle too got to 35 (31b,4 fours). However, there was no set player to guide the Tigers towards a finish once Paresh’s stay came to an end on reaching the 35-run limit. Moreover, Buddhadev Mangaldas dealt a double blow in the 16th over, removing Rohit Mehta and Govind Gawas; thereby snuffing out Baale Tigers’ chance of a win.

Earlier on winning the toss and electing to bat, Prescon Panthers captain Vivek Karapurkar led from the front with a fiery knock of 12-ball 39 down the order, which powered them to the highest total of the PGML.

Vivek Karapurkar receives man-of-the match award from Mayur Sawkar.

Prescon Panthers innings progressed at a decent pace until all-rounder Karapurkar, unleashed the charge as his knock was studded with four boundaries and three sixers. Prescon plundered 61 runs in the last five overs to post a huge total.

Prajyot Rivonker 35 off 34 balls and Smit Dalvi 35(29) were the other notable run-getters for the Panthers.

For Baale Tigers, Shushrut Nasnodkar took two wickets; while Paresh Miskin, Sudin Kamat and Balkrishna Hodarkar picked up a wicket each.

Brief scores: Prescon Panthers 168/6 (Vivek Karapurkar 39, Prajyot Rivonker 35, Smit Dalvi 35; Shushrut Nasnodkar 2/24). Baale Tigers 149/5 (Kapil Angle 35, Paresh Miskin 35, Sudin Kamat 33; Buddhadev Mangaldas 2/17).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here