PANAJI: Infrastructure is the set of facilities and systems that serve a country and encompasses the services and facilities necessary for its economy, household and firms to function. It provides world class infrastructure to citizens and improves their quality of life. This is the credo – “For a better of Life” of ACECC (Asian Civil Engineering Coordinating Council) which is an international body comprising 16 member economies from USA, Japan, Korea, Australia, India, Indonesia, Mongolia, Philippines, Myanmar, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Russia, Nepal, New Zealand, Taiwan and Vietnam. ICE(I) represents India on ACECC.

One of the major activities of ACECC is holding the Civil Engineering Conference in the Asian Region (CECAR) every three years in different countries for the advancement of Civil Engineering. India has got the privilege to host CECAR for the first time from 21st to 23rd September, 2022 at Taj Resort and Convention Centre, Goa on the core theme of “Sustainable Design and Eco Technologies for Infrastructure” with relevant sub themes revolving around it.

Chief Minister Dr. Pramod Sawant will be the Chief Guest for the inaugural ceremony in the presence of Om Birla, Speaker of the Lok Sabha. His Excellency, Governor of Goa, P.S. Sreedharan Pillai will be the chief guest for the award ceremony besides Guest of Honour, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Minister of Jal Shakti. Govt. of India. Shripad Yesso Naik, Minister of State, Ministry of Ports, Shipping & Waterways, Govt. of India, will be the chief guest for the valedictory ceremony.

Lt. Gen. Harpal Singh, PVSM, VSM, ADC, Engineer-in-Chief, Integrated Headquarters, Ministry of Defence, Government of India; Dr. Dennis D. Truax, President of ASCE, Sanjay K. Nirmal, Director General (Road Development) & Special Secretary, MoRTH, Lt. Gen Rajeev Choudhary, Director General Border Roads (DGBR), Dr. Reiko Abe, Chairman, Oriental Consultants India Pvt Ltd, Mr. Duduzane Zuma, South Africa, Dr. Adesh Jain, Chairman i2p2m & Founder WPMF, Dr. Ashok Kumar, Outstanding Scientist, Ministry of science and Technology, Govt. of India will be the Plenary Speakers in the event.

Dr. Pankaj Mittal, Secretary General, AIU, Dr. Santosh Kumar, Prof. NIDM, Lt. Gen. Harpal Singh, PVSM, VSM, ADC, Engineer-in-Chief, Intergrated Headquarters, Ministry of Defence, Government of India, Prof. Somnath Sachdeva, VC, Kurukshetra University, Brig. G. Muthu Kumar, Chief Engineer, MES, Dr. S.K. Pattanaik, Chairman, SGI, Prof. RM Vasan, ACECC Chair, Maj Gen Ashok Kumar, DGW, MES, Dr. Ashok Kumar, Outstanding Scientist, Govt. of India, Sujit Jena, Consultant, NITI Aayog, Dr. Adesh Jain, Chairman i2p2m, Dr. Hilda Farkas, Embassy of Hungary, Lt. Gen Rajeev Choudhary, Director General Border Roads (DGBR), Prof. Anjan Dutta, Prof, IIT Guwahati, Dr. M. Senthilkumar, HEAD, Corporate Environment Cell; will be chairs of the different concurrent technical sessions, just to name a few. There will be speakers from over 20 countries alongwith 150 speakers from various reputed organisations/technical committees of ACECC across the globe.

CECAR9 will put together an exposition “CECAR9 Expo” showcasing the best in India/Asia/Worldwide in which various Infraspecialist Companies such as, JCB, ACE, BEML, Jaquar, Urbanacc, Tata Hitachi, Doosan Bobcat, i2PM, Jindal Steel & Power, Outnord, Nortec, BRO are some of the companies who are participating besides Goa Pavilion.

CECAR9 is going to act as a catalyst for sustainable development and CECAR triggers a setting for the engineers to sow the seeds for future generations in the sector. It also enshrines the social responsibility of ensuring that the participating economies bequeath a positive and sustainable legacy, states a press release.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here