PANAJI: World Racketlon Champion and former Goa state champion Ashutosh Pedenekar and Goa’s star player Anura Prabhu Desai were among those who were felicitated by Goa Badminton Association (GBA) during the GBA Annual Awards function hosted by Ponda Shuttlers at SRK Farms, Khandepar on Sunday.

Arjun Fallary who represented India at Sub Junior Asian Badminton championships – 2019 in Indonesia, Kanji Brothers Sandeep and Kamlesh, Amit Kakkar and Vishal Vernekar, Dr Sicletica Rebello and Dr Satish Kudchadkar who have done Goa proud in Masters categories, were presented with Outstanding achievement awards for winning medals and laurels in Veterans events.

Tejan Fallary who created history in Goa by winning triple crown in Senior State championships was recognised along with other prominent coaches / promoters and outstanding players such as Sushil Nayak, Wilfred Jacques, Nilesh Nayak, Sandeep Khandeparkar, Selvyn Godinho, Chetan Kavlekar, Albert Dorado, Avita Bandodkar and Iftikhar Shaikh.

“We could not organise the Awards function last couple of years owing to Covid 19 pandemic. It was a wonderful privilege and honour for us to felicitate and honour many of the players who have brought laurels and distinction to Goa and India during last two years. We also recognised coaches and promoters who have worked hard for the game and supported our activities. Notable absentees were Goa’s star sensation Tanisha Crasto, Sandhya Melasheemi, Triple crown winner at Masters Nationals, and few others who are practicing in outstation academies like Lydia Barreto, Anjana Kumari, Aashrun Gautam and Shourya Joshi,” said Sandeep Heble, secretary of Goa Badminton Association.

“Seasoned player and former International star Anushka Kuvelkar and rising players Harsh Mane and Yash Desai had other engagements. We will recognise all these players during the next event or whenever they come down to Goa next,” stated Heble.

Monica Dourado, Project Officer, Sports Authority of Goa, Narahar Thakur, President, Goa Badminton Association, Ponda Shuttlers office-bearers Anil Painguinkar (President) and Sandeep Khandeparkar (Secretary), World Racketlon champion Ashutosh Pednekar, Former India number one Anura Prabhu Desai and GBA Secretary Sandeep Heble graced the Awards function.

Appreciation certificates were presented to prominent Goa players and officials during the day-long event, which was followed by GBA AGM. Following are the list of Award-winners:

International Achievements & Honours: Tanisha Crasto, Anura Prabhu Desai, Pranjal Chimulkar, Sandhya Melasheemi, Ashutosh Pednekar, Anura Prabhu Desai, Lydia Barretto, Arjun Fallary, Anushka Kuvelkar and Anjana Kumari.

National / State Achievements & Honours: Dr Sicletica Rebello, Dr Satish Kudchadkar, Sandeep Kanji, Kamlesh Kanji, Amit Kakkar and Vishal Vernekar, Tejan Fallary, Aashrun Gautam, Harsh Mane, Yash Desai, Sushil Nayak, Wilfred Jacques, Shourya Joshi, and Rudra Dukle

Promoters, Coaches, Officials & Organisers: Richard D’Souza, Ashok Menon, Victor Vaz, Nilesh Nayak, Sandeep Khandeparkar, Selvyn Godinho, Chetan Kavlekar, Albert Dorado, Avita Bandodkar, Iftikhar Shaikh, Sadiq Attar and Abhishek Swami.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here