PORVORIM: Porvorim Warriors and Mandovi Parivar-Canacona stormed into the quarter-finals of the 1st Manohar Parrikar Trophy T20 Cricket Tournament organised by Yuva de Goa in association with Pilerne Cricket Club, at GCA academy ground here today.

The highlight of the day was a masterly knock by Goan batting legend and former Ranji Trophy captain Swapnil Asnodkar, who became the first player to score a century in the Manohar Parrikar Trophy.

Powered by Swapnil’s strokeful 117 runs off 59 balls, Porvorim Warriors posted a huge total of 200/5 in their allotted 20 overs after being put into bat by Dukes Cricketers. The 37-year-old Swapnil turned the clock back with his natural instincts taking over while he blazed the shots in all directions of the ground; cutting, pulling and driving ferociously for his 17 boundaries and 3 sixes.

Swapnil Asnodkar receives the man of the match award from Vineeta Palekar and Manoj Gavali of Esmeralda Group.

Swapnil, who retired couple of years ago and got into coaching, was named man-of-the match. While it was out and out Swapnil show, other key contribution came from the bat of Rajshekhar Harikant (29 runs).

For Dukes Cricketers, Raviraj Tilve took two wickets while Rohan Shetty, Pranay Kavlekar and Mahesh Ghadi picked up a wicket each. In their reply, Dukes never looked like they were in the contest before being all out for 106 in 18 overs. Captain Deepesh Mhaldar with 29 (24 balls, 3 fours, 2 sixes) and Milind Chodankar with 20 runs, were their top two run-getters.

Porvorim Warriors bowlers had a comfortable life compared to their counterparts, with Nikesh Panjikar taking three wickets while Manish Kakode had two scalps for his effort with the ball. Ruthvik Naik, Fardeen Khan and Reagan Pinto claimed one wicket each.

Sherbahadur Yadav receives the man of the match award from Sunil Shirodkar of Viva Goa

Earlier on the Matchday 2, Mandovi Parivar-Canacona cruised to a 10-wicket victory over Union Sports Club Valpoi. Mandovi’s Sherbahadur Yadav came up with a man-of-the match performance grabbing 6 wickets for just 12 runs.

Union Sports Club were dismissed for just 78 runs in 16.5 overs after Mandovi Parivar won the toss and elected to bowl. Pratham Kosamba (28), Pandurang Gaonkar (12) and Saniket Palkar (10) got into double digits for Union in the face of some accurate bowling by former Goa First-Class spinner Sherbahadur Yadav and Co. Deepraj Gaonkar took two while Avishkar Mone claimed one wicket.

Mandovi Parivar raced to 79/0 in 8 overs with Goa Ranji Trophy all-rounder Deepraj (49 runs including 6 fours & 3 sixes) and captain and experienced Ranji Trophy batsman Snehal Kauthankar (24 including 2 sixes) remaining unseparated at the top of the batting order.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here