Last year’s runners-up Dempo Challengers won the PGML 2.0 title at Panjim Gymkhana on Sunday. In a one-sided final, Dempo outplayed Priority Titans by 51 runs.

Losing the toss to the Titans, who put the Challengers into bat, the latter’s batting order fired and how. The league’s leading run-getter and opener Devidas Kholkar scored a patient 35 in 37 balls, while the second-highest scorer in PGML 2.0 Kiran Shirwaikar scored a 16-ball 39, with four boundaries and three sixes to help the Dempo Challengers put up a challenging 163 runs on the board for the loss of seven wickets.

Priority Titans captain Muktiar Kadri had to bear the brunt of the Challengers’ batting exploits, giving away 36 runs in three overs for no wickets. Harsh Parekh was the most economical bowler for the Titans, taking two wickets for 16 runs in three overs.

Priority Titans batters simply failed to fire right from the beginning of the innings, losing wickets at regular intervals, thanks to a good bowling performance by the Challengers. The leading wicket-taker at the PGML 2.0 Kiran Shirwaikar took two wickets for 19 runs, while also picking up the man of the match award for his allround performance.

Dempo Challengers’ bowlers Dinesh Amrute and Nakul Mhamal took three wickets each to complete the demolition of the Priority Titans, who were bowled out for 112 with five balls to spare.

Along with the trophy, the winning team Dempo Challengers, were awarded a cash prize of Rs. 2 lakh, while runner-up, Priority Titans were awarded Rs. 1 lakh.

Commenting on the win, Shrinivas Dempo, owner of the Dempo Challengers, said: “PGML 2.0 has been a very pleasing experience. Panjim Gymkhana’s vision and mission to improve Goa’s status in cricket is going to materialise if you have events like this. We’ve enjoyed every part. Two finals, one lost very narrowly, one won, so we are looking forward to the next one already”.

According to Parind Nachinolkar, owner of the runner-up team Priority Titans, the better team on the day had ended up winning the final. “It has been an exciting tournament right from the beginning… We won the first four matches. It was all thrill, thrill and thrill. We have an awesome team who stood together united. We had some good times, we had some little downs. And today, the best team won absolutely,” he said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here