PORVORIM: MCC scored a resounding eight-wicket victory over Chowgule Sports Club and booked the final remaining spot in the quarter-finals of the inaugural edition of Manohar Parrikar Trophy T20 cricket tournament organised by Yuva de Goa in association with Pilerne Cricket Club at GCA academy here today.

MCC were totally dominant over their rivals chasing the 101-run target in 13 overs with Goa U-23 batsman Manthan Khutkar remaining unbeaten on 52 runs, after another Goa first-team’s young pacer Nihal Surlakar wrecked the Chowgule innings with a five-wicket haul to bag the man-of-the match award.

Nihal Surlakar receives the man-of-the match award from Rohit Naik of Spicy Family Restaurant

“T20 cricket is all about variations and I tried to mix my pace today. It worked out well,” said Nihal during the presentation ceremony.

Manthan was delighted with his effort. The 21-year-old left-hander hit nine crisp boundaries in his 43-ball knock and meted out special treatment to Goa Ranji Trophy new-ball bowler Felix Alemao of Chowgule. “I was timing the ball very well right from the start. I enjoyed playing my natural game, particularly my duel with Felix,” said Manthan speaking to after the match.

Earlier, Chowgule captain Mahesh Rao elected to bat after winning the toss but their plan did not work out as his side were bowled out for a paltry total of 100 runs in 18.4 overs. Only a couple of batsmen got off to a decent start. Goa Ranji Trophy batsman Srinivas Fadte scored 29 runs while his state team-mate Sumiran Amonkar could only manage 28 runs off his 18-ball knock that contained two boundaries and two sixers. Shivam Amonkar (11) and Felix Alemao (10), helped push the team total into triple digits.

MCC pacer Nihal, who was a part of Goa squad for BCCI Vijay Hazare Trophy this season, ripped through the Chowgule batting line-up with his 3.4 overs yielding five wickets for just 17 runs. Shreyas Usgaonkar took two wickets while MCC captain and Goa Ranji Trophy all-rounder Darshan Misal, Somesh Prabhudessai and Kaushal Hattangadi claimed one wicket each.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here