PORVORIM: Khorlim XI beat Super Sixers by 65 runs to enter the quarter-finals of 1st Manohar Parrikar Trophy T20 Cricket Tournament organised by Yuva de Goa in association with Pilerne Cricket Club at GCA academy ground here today.

Former Goa Ranji Trophy all-rounder Amit Yadav contributed with the bat (39) and ball (2 wickets), to be named man-of-the match. He received the award from former Goa captain Sagun Kamat.

Khorlim XI squad seen along with CEO and Co-founder of Umang, Mangirish Salelkar (centre)

Led by ex-Ranji Trophy all-rounder Saheel Dhuri, Khorlim XI posted a mammoth total of 201/6 after electing to bat. This is the highest total of the tournament so far, overtaking Porvorim Warriors’ 200/5 against Dukes Cricketers.

Khorlim XI rode on the second-wicket partnership of 108 runs between Aditya Kaushik (59 off 41balls) and Amit Yadav (39 off 34 balls) to set a strong foundation for their team. Aditya, who hit five fours and three sixers, and Amit, whose knock consisted five fours and a sixer, hardly faced any difficulty facing the Super Sixers attack before they ultimately got out.

Goa all-rounder Maliksab Shirur scored 23 runs including two sixers and a boundary;
while talented young opener Ishan Gadekar, who made his debut for Goa this season at the BCCI Vijay Hazare Trophy, contributed a quickfire 20 runs off just eight deliveries, striking goodlooking shots for three fours and a sixer.

Super Sixers were guilty of giving away 31 extras but in general, their bowlers lacked the quality to trouble Khorlim XI. Amod Borkar took two wickets while Siddhesh Alvekar, Siddharth Ghanekar and Sanath Mhapne picked up a wicket each.

In reply, Super Sixers lost wickets at regular intervals and their failure to stitch a notable partnership prevented them from getting into a contest with their opponents. Sanath Mhapne was the highlight of their batting performance as he looked like a class act at times on the way to scoring 41 runs off 30 balls. His knock comprised five boundaries and a sixer.

Khorlim XI’s  Ninad Pawaskar (2/13),  Saheel Dhuri (2/17) and Amit Yadav (2/19) did not allow Super Sixers batsmen any sort of freedom to play their shots, in what was a comfortable win for the Mapusa-based side.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here