PORVORIM: Salgaocar Cricket Club made a heavy weather of a modest target before registering a scratchy three wicket victory over Iqbal XI in the second match of the day here today, at the ongoing Manohar Parrikar Trophy T20 cricket tournament organised by Yuva de Goa in association with Pilerne CC.

Chasing the target of 114, Salgaocar had a decent start before suffering a middle order collapse and had to work hard to stay alive in the competition. Goa Ranji Trophy star Lakshay Garg was declared man of the match for his two wickets and 21 runs effort.

Lakshay Garg receives the man-of-the match award from Sandeep Khandeparkar of SRK’s Baag Along Resorts & Spice Farm

Achit Shigwan played responsibly with the lower middle order to remain unbeaten on 34 and guide the team home. Prathamesh Gawas contributed 31 runs while Goa Ranji Trophy batsman Vaibhav Govekar managed 15 runs.

Iqbal XI bowlers worked hard and if they had got a better support in the field where the team leaked runs, it could have been the first upset result of the tournament.

Nevertheless, credit to spinner Siddhesh Verenkar, who dealt a double blow to Salgaocar in his first over, Rohit Naik and Tushar Sawant, all of whom took two wickets; while Abhu Bhadgaonkar picked up one wicket, as they made one of Goa’s most successful cricket clubs – Salgaocar CC stretch till 18.1 overs to reach 117/7 and book a spot in the last-eight stage.

Earlier electing to bat, Iqbal XI were off to a disastrous start. They lost their top five batsmen within 10.5 overs with the total reading 57 at the fall of fifth wicket. Iqbal XI’s highest partnership was between Abhu Bhadgaonkar (31 not out) and Pranav Salunke (23 not out). Both the players batted sensibly to put on 56 runs for the sixth wicket. Abhu struck three boundaries in his 34-ball knock while Pranav hit one four and a six in his 26-ball stay at the crease. And in the process provided a semblance of respectability to Iqbal XI total of 113/5. Anand Surve chipped in with 19 runs while Naeem Sadekar made 12 runs.

Salgaocar with their attack led by Goa’s fastest bowler Lakshay, kept their rivals under a leash. Lakshay picked up two wickets giving away just five runs and also bowled one maiden over. Badal Singh, Shadab Khan and Shubham Tari, who was however most expensive of the lot giving away 37 runs, took one wicket each.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here